By Popular Demand…A Poem.

Several of the people I’ve run across, friends, clients and students have asked that I post a poem (at least at some point).  Many of you may be surprised to know that poetry is what actually got me started in writing in the first place. Well,…that, and a superb english teacher named Mrs. Amy Powers.  It was a hard choice to find the first blogspace poem to list.  Since we’re coming up on Valentine’s Day… I’ll let the backdrop be that of eros.  This particular poem was inspired by my girlfriend, my muse, Jenny.  I use the pine warbler, my most favorite of the small North American birds to represent her.  It was the first poem that I wrote to her…and the first poem in over 5 years that had the undertone of “nervous fancy” that soo possessed me.  Enjoy.

Her Song

Her song bends on the breeze

A sweet but melancholy chirp-chirp-chirping amidst the pines.

Rapacious becomes my heart.

More of this melody my ear bends to seize.

Edging closer to the scattered, snow-laden thicket

My eyes peer through to her tethered, woodland perch.

She advances near with a quickened hop,

Likened to that of a cricket.

She now stands close with a tilted stare, As another warble is given.

Her beauty, her song, so ineffable to me,

I stroll by, docile, steps made with the greatest of care.

Though something within bids time is fleeting

I feel too, faithful in our moment repeating.

Without notice she takes to the wind.

Soon I’ll visit you again, my sweet and most dear friend.

~ by chencenter on January 30, 2008.

5 Responses to “By Popular Demand…A Poem.”

  1. Beautiful!!! I love you.

  2. Thank you! I love how you put “mom” in parenthesis like I might not have realized who made the comment. And of course I love you too… so much. 🙂

  3. Beautiful poem.

    You are a very talented writer, poet and martial artist!

    I think you should write more! 🙂

  4. (humbly)…Thank you. and write more I shall! There’s myself, and this blog…this blog and me…it’s a continuum..we keep running into each other. There’ll be another in a day or so. I’ll keep you posted. 😉

  5. (humbly)…Thank you. and write more I shall! There’s myself, and this blog…this blog and me…it’s a continuum..we keep running into each other. There’ll be another in a day or so. I’ll keep you posted. 😉

Leave a Reply

 
