Kimbo VS. Tank: “Gone in 60 seconds”

Disclaimer:  If you don’t know the outcome and the details of the fight and you don’t want me to spoil it for you…please DON’T READ ANY FURTHER.  You can see the fight on YouTube by typing in “Kimbo vs. Tank”

THE FIGHT:  KIMBO SLICE versus TANK ABBOTT (Bank United Center in Florida. Aired on Showtime)

Meanwhile back at the ranch…  FIRST OFF- This fight isn’t normally what I’d comment on, except that it’s interesting in a barbarous-sorta-way.  It tackles the imagination when you hear that two, heavyweight, fight veterans are going to face off in a style that can only be labeled as “brawling.”  It’s interesting as a martial artist because this is the type of fighting that you typically encounter in the streets (right crosses and “hay-makers” thrown in rapid succession).  Back in my day, it was on the playground or somewhere (after school) at a some hidden location.  Not that I’ve seen a lot of these fights, but in this video age… we can witness many “backyard fights” (where Kimbo honed his skills). 

My Observations:  This is something that just has to be said…. Kimbo has no chin!  – instead, Kimbo has a thick, brillo-pad, hobo beard and a terminator-like endo-skeleton.  Am I not speaking the truth?  and Tank… well,.. he lost the fight in the locker room.  His pre-fight interview showed his meditative side, but his quiet, somber look and lack of enthusiasm showed a man of doubt and intense dread.  Someone should have doctored photos of Kimbo beating his dog or something.  Something was need, because Tank’s thirst for victory just wasn’t there.

THE FIGHT itself:   I don’t think I ever blinked during this entire match.  Tank started fairly strong by putting Kimbo against the fence but then gave Kimbo the room to do what he does best, and that is to “slug.”  When Tank bent over and grabbed at Kimbo’s heel, I was first impressed that Tank was trying a take-down (even-though he had zero forward momentum or shoulder rotation to execute it).  Then, as I saw the illegal blows reigning down on the back of Tank’s head I thought, “oh man… I guess I can say good-bye to a fair fight.”  From that point on Tank’s equilibrium was off and couldn’t plant his feet properly.   Now hold on guys!…  I still believe that Tank didn’t have much of a chance (even without the illegal, occipital strikes) but it would have given him a sliver of hope. 

Final Thoughts:  Tank should retire, become a bodyguard, or milk the semi-celebrity-hood for all he can.  My choice would be to do all the above.  A record of 9 wins and 14 losses are no way stellar marks.  Save the brain cells, start a good cardio program or start your own MTV reality show.   As for Mr. Slice,… work on take-down counters, stamina and sharpen those punching skills with Bas Rutten (an incredible fighter) and you’re GOLDEN.  Fight the heavy-hitters and make your mark as “the toughest of this lot” …and don’t fight any jujitsu masters… at least just yet.

OK guys…. what are your thoughts.  I know you’ve got a few comments that are just squirming to get out.  🙂

~ by chencenter on February 18, 2008.

14 Responses to “Kimbo VS. Tank: “Gone in 60 seconds””

  1. You’re definitely on the mark. Tank lost the fight back in the locker room. The man had no excitement or intensity about him, looking partially depressed, if anything. Prior to this, I doubt he even trained properly for the fight – then again, does he ever?

    Kimbo is in good hands, he should be able to develop a more rounded MMA game. I’d be interested to see what happens when he gets taken down and has to rely on mat skills and jujitsu techniques.

  2. I agree, Tank looked like he knew he was going to lose and with that mentality you can’t win.

    Kimbo was just scary but I’m glad he had the decency to know when to stop bashing his head after the knock out even though he threw some illegal punches earlier on in the fight.

    Im not much of a brawler fan, I prefer a fight that requires more technique and knowledge then just slamming someone down. Which is why this fight wasnt high up on my list for being entertained as far as some other fights that had jujitsu and other martial arts. The only entertaining part of this fight in my opinion is the scary feeling you got from Kimbo with his beard after he won….Oh and that killer look in his eye that would make anyone shit in their pants as he charged the oponent even when the ref was like…”not yet.”

  3. Dez- Although it did seem that Tank was a little leaner in this fight then in previous matches…noone could have won with that level of intensity. He acted like it was “another day at the job.” Take Andre “the pitbull” Arlovski for example, he comes into the octagon, eyes glazed over, snarling like the pitbull that he’s named for. Thanks for the comment.

    Jenny- I love watching this stuff with you. Even if the fight lasts between 40 and 60 seconds…it’s like…mmmmm…you’re snuggly. 😉

  4. Great observation my friend… first off let me say that i did not watch the fight so my following opinion is purely based my feelings as a fighter. I think this fight was a bad idea from the get go… You basically have two guys who would have fought for free at the local bar over who’s beer gut was bigger, only America got to see it live, and we paid them for it… I personally feel like fights like these give a bad impression on combat sports. The average person says to them self, “Hey, i am gonna video tape my self beating the crap out my next door neighbor, put it on youtube, get a deal with BumFights, then fight in the UFC”… I am definately not saying Kimbo or Tank do not have any power or ability, if fact, I am just a lightweight so Kimbo would prbly wrap me up like a Burrito and try to down me with a brewsky, but as a professionaly MMA Fighter and a professionaly Muay Thai Fighter i just feel like fights like these take our sport back 10 years in a time that we are fighting for legitimacy, but hey thats just my opinion, and you know what they say about opinions..They are like armpits, everyones got one and they all stink..lol..

    Chris Clodfelter
    Champion Muay Thai

  5. I am going to have to agree 100% with Mr. Clodfelter. It upsets me when a fight between a guy on a ten year losing streak, save one fight, and some guy with only one mma fight bet to headline a show live on TV. The fact of the matter is that those two were the least technical of any of the fighters on the card. Kimbo shows potential sure, but lets not start making him a mma poster boy just yet.

    Adam “The Pageboy” Davis
    Since 1989

  6. Chris- Great to have you on here, offering a professional take on things. Kimbo vs. Tank was a cockfight that just had to be exploited. I must say it opened my eyes and excited me (pre-fight), but about 30 seconds in… i just held my head to the floor and sighed.

    Adam- As always…great to have you contribute! Besides Tank’s losing streak, I think one of the big questions was how Tank would handle the ultimate of fist fights (having only been knocked out once in his long career. I think one of the Gracie’s did it surprisingly). And as I said above, they’re gladiators and it seemed to give the audience what they wanted…or at least what they thought they wanted. If they were just two big, no-names, they would have been booed.

  7. I think it was a very poor fight for Tank to take at this point in his career if you could call it that. No doubt Tank is a tough guy compared to most average joe’s out there. But he doesn’t in the slightest show drive or phsycial ability to last in mixed martial arts at all. The days of the slug fest are becoming slowly numbered as the talent constintly increases as well as the abilities to perform techniques of multiple combat systems both in stand up and on the ground.

    Kimbo, he has the thirst and the drive. I like the dude, though he isn’t well rounded yet and I don’t think he would win in a grappling situation. He is training so it is to be expected that he will improve vastly on all his abilities now that he is training with quality instructors.

    To put these 2 competitors against each other in my opinion was like putting a 1st grader against a college student both with minimum knowledge of techniques. Tank might be big, but he was NO WHERE NEAR the condition that Kimbo was in for this fight. From the moment they called this fight I had no doubts that Kimbo would win unless it were for that punchers chances knock out. Which I couldn’t say Tank couldn’t get if he knew how to put his weight into his punches instead of hitting with only arm and shoulder strength. Tank’s rad, but he should stay to the toughman style competitions where the talent isn’t so experienced or over powering. Maybe make a Heavy weight jelly division or something. No disrespect intended, but it just seemed like it was so obvious what was going to happen.

    I don’t think Kimbo is ready for much of the competition out there. But he will thats for sure cause he has commitment, dedication, and a humble image of himself. Thats all it takes to learn everythign you can and become better the next day then you were the last.

    David Crew
    Crew Mixed Martial Arts
    San Diego, CA 92117

  8. kimbo all the way this guy is amazin

  9. David- Thanks for coming by and commenting. I agree with what you wrote 100%.

    Haris- Welcome to the CCB!

  10. LEMME VENTURE ANOTHER QUESTION

    IS KIMBO ALL HE’S HYPED UP TO BE? … OR ANOTHER BOB SAPP / GARY GOODWRENCH? POST YOUR COMMENT BELOW

  11. Hi, i think that i saw you visited my site thus i got here to return the desire?
    .I’m attempting to to find issues to improve my site!I guess its adequate to make use of some of your concepts!!

  12. I’m really enjoying the design and layout of your website. It’s a very easy on the eyes which makes it
    much more enjoyable for me to come here and visit more often.
    Did you hire out a developer to create your theme?
    Exceptional work!

  13. My brother recommended I would possibly like this website.
    He was totally right. This post actually made my day.
    You cann’t consider simply how so much time I had spent for this info!
    Thanks!

  14. My family all the time say that I am wasting my time here at net, except I know I am getting know-how daily
    by reading such good content.

Leave a Reply

 
