An Affair To Remember – Turning 30

There were always in me, since my early 20’s, two different “Michaels” – one, the courageous, “fly-by-the-seat-of-your-pants”, perpetual youth.  The other- the dreaming philosopher, conscious of his place in the “pecking order” of Life.

I find myself looking back at my pictures of 10 years ago and -although my girlfriend says I look the same- I find myself re-examining and wondering if the Michael of twenty years would say the same thing?  Or am I just projecting the youth I wish to see in myself?

I do not write this to boast, but having found love gives me at least 6 years- maybe 7 [Love You Bebe!].  The other 3 years I attribute to good genes.  So, therefore, although my chronological age stays the same, my true age is reduced by 10.  Thank you mom, dad and Jenny… the vanity in me worships you.

My birthday party was pure greatness.  Even though gifts are unimportant, and my wants are small… I got all that I could possibly want.  I got a couple of “old-man” gifts like a tool-box and an iron…. but those were things I really needed.  And with the gift cards and money… within a few hours at Dick’s Sporting Goods and Kohl’s, it was already well-spent.  I went to bed at 11:30 that night… which was the earliest I’ve slept in about 4 years.  Too much excitement for this kid!

Smiles-  Michael 

 
F.Y.ITHE GOLDEN THREAD: Essential Principle of Self Defense is written and in the editing phase.  It was my goal to finish my first book by Aug. 31st and, to my excitement, was able to accomplish that.  It will soon be available for purchase at our Online Store .  An accompanying book of Applications will be available in December.

p.s. – Take a look at the products and custom-made logos I’ve created at the Online Store.  All profits from this store go to teaching materials and training aides for my future classes.  My massage clients can look forward to a pretty sweet coupon coming to them in the next few days ($20 SAVINGS).

~ by chencenter on September 2, 2008.

10 Responses to “An Affair To Remember – Turning 30”

  1. The Michael of twenty years ago is 10. Ten year olds think anyone older than 20 is ancient. Don’t ask him, LOL!!

    I think that a VERY large part of how we age comes from inside us. Sure, there are genes etc. but if you keep learning and playing – keep your heart happy you will always be younger than you are.

    Happy belated birthday, friend… pssst… I’m here to tell you 40 is no problem either! You are just ten years smarter! 🙂

  2. Happy belated 30th.
    Congratulations on all your accomplisments.

  3. For what it’s worth, you do look exactly like you did when we graduated high school. Honestly, it’s a little creepy, you old man. Happy birthday.

  4. Im glad you had a great birthday. You deserved it becuase you work very hard and still keep a positive fighting attitude when things dont go as planned. You are an inspiration to me and others becuase you are so creative, young at heart, and motivated. You dont have to look very far to see a great role model that resides in your heart. Cheesy? Oh well its the truth! Happy 30th Birthday! (I can still say that because according to you, birthday doesnt end till friday! lol)

    kisses

  5. Hey JB, We had a good time at the B-Day bash. It was extremely difficult to resist the temptation of getting you some sort of getting “older” gag gift. We thought we would be easy on you. Humm… would you have seen the humor in a fake mustache? ha ha No worries about the age my friend: you still have that same sweet baby face!!! 😉

  6. Maybe you’re younger on the inside. This strange and exotic martial art you practice could conceivably shift time!

    Or at least, perhaps, Tai Chi rolls water and vitality through the body-mind enough to keep the wrinkles of time from showing too soon.

    In any case, nice work!

  7. To the “eternal” Michael, may you have many more years and lives to live in this dimension and many others.
    Happy Belated Birthday!
    Pat

  8. Hehehe, well Michael I am very glad you had a good birthday! 🙂

    And I’m thinking you’ll probably be the wisest ten year old ever 🙂 Age just isn’t a defining factor for you, it seems. You are just simply…Michael!

  9. Thanks everyone! The whole, “don’t worry, you are young/young-looking/young-at heart”-thing was a great compliment and stroke to my self esteem. Apart from the “age duality” there is another “duality”… one that loves to stand on my own… and another that loves to be cuddled by all his friends. Thanks for the massive cuddle everyone!

  10. I just hit 40 this year. I am stronger, fitter and hopefully wiser than I was in my 20’s or 30’s.

    Age and what we can accomplish is a fluid concept.

Leave a Reply

 
