Finding Your Purpose

I was listening to a podcast by one of my favorite people, Mr. Geoff Thompson.  For those that don’t know who he is, he’s one of the foremost authorities on personal protection.  He’s a martial artist, author and he delivers free podcasts (you can find and subscribe to them on iTunes) every so often.

I have met plenty of young adults and above – that feel stuck… they aren’t quite sure what to do with their lives… what direction to go in, et cetera.  I’ve pondered long and hard on this myself in the past, and I was very lucky to have found my life’s passion(s) early on.  However, for most, it may not come right away, but there is method that can work for you… and having been inspired by this podcast, I want very much to outline some of these key points:  GEOFF THOMPSON SAYS…

When people are not sure what they want to do… it is because their purpose is just a few layers deep… normally, right below their depression. And they are feeding their depressions with addictions.

  • Get rid of ADDICTIONS (i.e.  people pleasing, self-pity, denial, shame, drink)
  • Get your body IN SHAPE (strengthen your body)
  • Read positive material and educate yourself on a daily basis (i.e. books, audio, films, conversations, etc).
  • Find an outlet for negativity and an inlet for positivity
  • Be Patient

When you’re patient, and you continuously improve your infrastructure, and give your ALL on a daily basis, your purpose will come to fruition.  But this will not happen when you continue to be a slave to your addictions, if you focus on negativity, and neglect your body.  Start with step #1…  make a list of both physical AND emotional addictions.  Slowly etch out the “New You” as you simultaneously train your body & mind.  Be receptive and direct your intention and time (whatever time you can spare) on yourself.  Be KIND to yourself.  Rome wasn’t built in a day.

GOOD LUCK MY FRIENDS  ~  COACH M. JOYCE

~ by chencenter on November 9, 2009.

One Response to “Finding Your Purpose”

  1. this is more than I am talking & writing .u are more on advising.
    I must change my self

Leave a comment